Skip to main content
The official website of the State of Mississippi


The Joint Commission Accreditation

By demonstrating compliance with the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organization’s national standards for health care quality and safety, North Mississippi State Hospital (NMSH), has earned the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval TM. This award recognizes NMSH’s dedication to continuous compliance with The Joint Commission’s state-of-the-art standards. The Joint Commission’s hospital standards address important functions relating to the care of patients and the management of hospitals.

NMSH underwent a rigorous unannounced on-site survey during which a team of expert surveyors from the Joint Commission conducted evaluations for compliance with standards of care specific to the needs of the patients, including leadership and medication management.

“In achieving Joint Commission accreditation, NMSH has demonstrated its commitment to the highest level of care for its patients,” says Mark Pelletier, R.N., M.S., executive director, Hospital Programs, Accreditation and Certification Services, The Joint Commission. “Accreditation is a voluntary process and I commend NMSH for successfully undertaking this challenge to elevate its standard of care and instill confidence in the communities it serves.”

“NMSH has been a Joint Commission-accredited hospital since 2000. With each successful Joint Commission survey, we are making a significant investment in quality on a day-to-day basis from the top down. Joint Commission accreditation gives us a framework to take our organization to the next level and helps create a culture of excellence,” states NMSH Director Paul A. Callens, Ph.D.

Founded in 1951, the Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve the safety and quality of care provided to the public through the provision of health care accreditation and related services that support performance improvement in health care organizations. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 18,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, not-for-profit organization, the Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at


Medicare & Medicaid

CMS Logo

The Social Security Act mandates the establishment of minimum health and safety standards that must be met by providers participating in Medicare and Medicaid programs. NMSH is approved for Medicaid programs and, thus, is subject to review by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. CMS conducted its most recent survey of NMSH in 2006 and granted continued certification of its programs, which means that the Hospital and Crisis Intervention Centers met the appropriate standards.